Countdown until ICBIC 2023


IC23 is the premier Inorganic Chemistry Division Meeting of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. Run as part of ICBIC 20 in 2023, standalone and integrated sessions will provide insights into and cover latest developments in all speciality areas of inorganic chemistry. Presentations will come from leading Australian and International researchers, with an exciting range of plenary and keynote lecturers from around the world being assembled for the IC23 component of the joint meeting.

A major focus of the IC23 component will be providing opportunities for younger researchers to showcase recent work across the full spectrum of inorganic chemistry sub-disciplines. The meeting will also include presentations and announcements of a number of Inorganic Chemistry Division awards, including:

The Burrows Awards

The award is based on consideration of the candidate's scientific work published in the past 10 years, together with other evidence of his or her standing in the international community. A major portion of the relevant scientific work must have been carried out in Australia and/or New Zealand.

Alan Sargeson Lectureship

The Alan Sargeson Lectureship is a prestigious early-career researcher award that acknowledges significant and innovative individual contributions to the field by researchers within ten years of the award of their PhD at the closing date for applications.

Stranks Award

Don Stranks was a leading member of the Australian and international inorganic chemistry community. The Don Stranks Awards commemorate his substantial contribution to inorganic chemistry in Australia, and particularly his nurture and encouragement of students. The Don Stranks Awards are open to student members of the RACI (or an affiliated society) attending a national Conference of the Division of Inorganic Chemistry, and recognize outstanding performance in research within a current PhD candidature.

Organometallic Award

Jointly awarded by the RACI Inorganic and Organic Chemistry Divisions, the award is given to a financial member of the RACI, with no more than 12 years of professional experience since completing their most recent relevant qualification, for contributions to the development of organometallic chemistry.

Sally Plush and Chris Sumby
Joint IC23 co-chairs

Expression of Interest

Register your details to receive updates and information on the progress of 20th International Conference on Biological Inorganic Chemistry held jointly with IC23 - the RACI Inorganic Division Meeting.

Register your Expression of Interest